It’s all gone wrong!

11th June, 8am out on the bike for a quick hour or two before the day gets going and I run into the back of a van, don’t ask me how cos I do not know. The sudden impact sends me over the handlebars onto the tarmac, breaking my collar bone and damaging ligments and hamstring in my right leg. It’s now early September and I am only just getting back onto the bike as the leg has taken so long to heal. I missed the London-Edinburgh-London (1400km) ride at the end of July and I have missed most of the good summer weather and long light nights. I was gutted (to say the least), but am getting over it and looking to set myself some new goals for the next 12 months. The first goal though is to get back to the long distances as soon as possible with the aim of riding my next 200km Audax in October. I have started to recover my fitness on a turbo in the back yard and expect to be back out on the road within the next week or so.

Of course the bike needs a rebuild as well with a new wheelset and shifters required, thank goodness for insurance covering accidental damage.

 

3 thoughts on “It’s all gone wrong!

Leave a Reply

