Heaven’s Grocery Store

Heaven’s Grocery Store

I was walking down life’s highway, a long long time ago.
When I came across a sign that said, “HEAVEN’S GROCERY STORE”.

As I got a little closer, the door came open wide.
And then before I knew it, I was standing right inside.

I saw a host of Angels.  They were standing everywhere.
One handed me a basket and said, “My Child, please shop with care.”

Everything a Christian needed, was in that grocery store.
And all you couldn’t carry then, you could just come back for more.

First, I got some Patience.  Love was also in that row.
Further down was Understanding.  We need that everywhere we go.

A box or two of Wisdom, and a bag or two of Faith.
I couldn’t miss the Holy Ghost, it was all over the place.

I got some Strength and Courage, to help me run this race.
And before my basket got too full, I had to have some Grace.

I didn’t forget Salvation, for Salvation was definitely free.
So I tried to get enough of that, to save both you and me.

Then I started for the counter, to pay my grocery bill.
I thought that I had everything, to do the Master’s Will.

I ran right into Prayer and I just had to put that in.
For I knew right when I stepped outside, I’d run right into sin.

Peace and Joy were plentiful.  They were last upon the shelf.
Song and Praise were hanging near, so I just helped myself.

Then I said to the Angel, “Now how much do I owe?
“He smiled and said, “Just take them with you everywhere you go.”

Again, I smiled and asked again, “How much do I really owe?
He said, “MY CHILD, JESUS PAID YOUR BILL
A LONG, LONG TIME AGO.”

Leave a Reply

